‘Wow that was incredible! You have to teach me how to do that!’

Elder Reinstein
Week 61 (March 23)

No photos of Zachary, but here is one of Elder Herd.

No photos of Zachary, but here is one of Elder Herd. Or, is that Elder Bryan Nelson?

The coming and going of missionaries has a much larger impact on the Elders in the Office than other missionaries, for good and for bad. Yes it is true I have barely slept in the past three days with all the runs to the Airport, I have also been so inspired by the work of our new Elders who have stayed with us as they wait to go to their own areas.

Imagine spending most of your life talking, learning and preparing for a mission. You get your call to a far off land, and after a 20 hour flight you finally arrive. You get to talk and spread the joy you have gained in this lifelong process with other people and families. I can imagine the joy and excitement of these first few moments as I remember my first few weeks in the mission field. It is unfortunate that missionaries with six months, a year or more, sometimes lose this fervor.

This week my excitement and understanding of the Work was rekindled. I was walking with some new Elders and after doing a simple street contact, he commented, “Wow that was incredible! You have to teach me how to do that!” Woah…he was right. It is so incredible that we have this power and authority to bring souls closer to Christ. It is so incredible that we can find some many prepared families. It is so incredible that the creation of two stakes in Maputo this transfer all began with simple, little street contacts like that. (The Beira Stake was formed yesterday)

I hope I can continue to keep my enthusiasm strong throughout my entire mission. I was blessed to say goodbye to three incredible missionaries today who served such honorable missions and brought many to Christ.

Anyway the week in the office was busy, with transfers. The time in the field was gratifying. We had a chance to lead one of the most successful Family Nights this week, which helped two new families come to Church on Sunday.

Elder Herd, my new comp has been a blast and continues to teach me every day.

One thought on “‘Wow that was incredible! You have to teach me how to do that!’

Leave a Reply

