‘Help me out here, Father, a car hit me and fled away!’

Elder Reinstein
Week 59 (March 16)

Saying goodbye to Bernardo and Cacilda, with the whole family.

Saying goodbye to Bernardo and Cacilda, with the whole family.

We have stakes, we have wards, we have bishops here in Maputo, so what more do we have to work for? I have been so impressed as almost everyone, the missionaries, the members and the leaders have already changed their vision to the temple– getting members to the temple and building a temple in Mozambique. I have seen the faith and the works here in Mozambique. I know this is very possible in the near future.

But the biggest news this week was an emergency transfer! I have been put in the office again, with a new companion, Elder Herd. He is three transfers ahead of me in the mission and is from Green River, Wyoming.

I think I’ll be here for a while. It is a bit weird to come back to the same area/ward, but it reminds me how much I love the people and the members here. There is already a lot of potential.

Speaking of the people, I forgot how much character they had in Chamanculo. I was contacting on Sunday when a man comes up to me, “Help me out here, Father, a car hit me and fled away!” Well he seemed fine, and was walking, and no, we can’t give money, so I invited him to church. Well, I soon found out in our conversation that this was not the first time he had been hit, it made 7 times! Well looks like he has got a few more problems than just cars. Gave me a chuckle.  (Note: Per Elder Reinstein the man was just fine, physically.)

We had a nice Zone Activity today, a waffle party with games, and have a new Bishop in our ward, Bishop Matteus. This will be a nice transition!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

